What is the International General Certificate of Secondary Education (IGCSE)?

The International General Certificate of Secondary Education (IGCSE) is the international version of the UK GCSE exam (formerly O-Level). Exams are set and assessed by Pearson Edexcel, a fully licenced and accredited UK exam board. Pearson Edexcel IGCSE qualifications are benchmarked against UK academic standards and are recognised internationally as having equal academic rigour.

Pearson Edexcel IGCSE programmes give students a strong academic foundation in each subject, in addition to developing essential academic skills. These programmes provide them with excellent preparation for further study at A-Level. For more information about the IGCSEs, click here.

How is IGSCE Different From GSCE?

GCSE is the standard UK year 11 (16 years of age) qualification. The main difference between Pearson Edexcel International qualifications and their UK equivalent is that IGCSE exams are designed to suit the global learner. The IGSCE thus has a more international perspective, accessible format to assist students whose first language may not be English. Insworld offers a wide range of subjects at IGCSE level, allowing students to select a range of subjects which matches their interests and ambitions.

What Makes IGCSE an Excellent Education Path to Take in Singapore?

IGCSE programmes are designed to prepare pupils for further studies by laying a solid academic foundation in each subject and encouraging students to focus on the application of key concepts across a range of contexts. They offer excellent preparation for progress to A-Level, where students will build on the subject knowledge and critical thinking skills they learned at IGCSE level.

IGSCE Subjects Offered at Insworld Institute Private School in Singapore

IGCSE schools offer subjects that combine factual knowledge with the academic skills that are essential for academic progression in Singapore. Students normally choose six or more subjects to study at IGCSE level. These must include English Language and Mathematics, which are compulsory. Other subjects include:

* Please check the subject availability from school

Course Duration

6 terms (18 – 22 months)

Class Size

4 – 12 students

Main Intakes

January and July

Other Enrolment Periods

March / April
September / October

Entry Requirements

Recommended Age14-16
English ProficiencyIELTS 4.5 / TOEFL 200 or equivalent
QualificationCompleted Junior Secondary programme or equivalent

Academic Progression

On successful completion of this programme, students obtain internationally recognised qualifications which allow them to progress on to the Insworld A-Level programme, or choose other options such as applying for admission to Singapore polytechnics or state universities in the USA.

We offer our IGCSE students a well-rounded education. In our IGSCE school in Singapore, in addition to content learning, practical coursework is an important part of the IGCSE curriculum. This provides pupils with a well-rounded education that includes the opportunity to practise their skills and learn through investigation and enquiry.

For any enquiries on admission matters, contact us at (65) 6732 1728 or email us at enquiries@insworld.edu.sg.

Close Menu



Sign up for our Newsletter to receive the latest news about important announcements, upcoming activities, admission information and more.